Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
About EU LCS

About EU LCS


The League of Legends Championship Series (LCS) is the preeminent League of Legends esports league in North America and Europe. The EU LCS is comprised of 10 teams drafted into two groups of 5 teams. Each team plays the teams in their group twice, and the teams in the opposing group once, for a total of 13 matches per split. The competition stretches across two splits, Spring and Summer. Starting with the 2017 EU LCS Spring Split, matches will be played in a Best of 3 format. Read more about the format changes here.

Teams were drafted into their groups via a special selection process. Based on their championship points totals during the 2016 EU LCS season, G2 Esports and H2K took the first and second seed at the head of each group. Groups were then selected via snake draft, similar to a Nemesis draft. Instead of drafting teams into their own group, the team picking chose a team to go into the opposing group rather than their own. The following graphic illustrates the process.

Group Draft


  • If two teams have the same record, ties will be broken by Head to Head record
  • If Head to Head records are identical, total games won will be used.
  • If still tied, a tiebreaker match will be played.

For complete tiebreaker scenarios, view the full rules page.

Playoff Format:

LCS playoffs are comprised of six teams in a seeded, single elimination tournament. All matches are Best of 5 format. A third/fourth place match is played.

Championship points

Starting with the 2015 LCS season, NA and EU leagues will utilize Championship Points (otherwise known to some as circuit points) for World Championship qualification. The Championship Point system ensures that teams always play their best and allows for better alignment with other international leagues.

Here’s how an LCS team qualifies for Worlds:

  • 1st place team of the Summer Split will automatically qualify (AQ) for Worlds as the first seed from that region.
  • The team that has accrued the most championship points throughout the season will also qualify for Worlds as the second seed.
  • In the event that multiple teams are tied in the standings at the conclusion of the Summer Split, then the team that gained the most points in the Summer Split will be considered the holder of the tiebreaker.
  • The final spot for Worlds will be determined at the NA and EU Regional Qualifiers, the winners of which will be the third seeds of their respective regions.

Points will be awarded in the following way:

PlaceSpring SplitSummer Split


How to watch

You can attend matches live every week at the EU LCS studio in Berlin, Germany. Click on the "Tickets" tab for more information on seeing the LCS in person. You can also watch the LCS live every week on lolesports or on our spoiler-free vods page once the match is finished.