Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
LCS

Rift Rivals: NA vs. EU returns

Rift Rivals: NA vs. EU will take place at the NA LCS Studio on July 5-7. Games begin at 12:30 PM PDT.

In July, one of the age old questions shall be answered...is NA > EU or EU > NA?

Rift Rivals: NA vs. EU will take place on July 5-7 at the NA LCS Studio in Los Angeles, CA. Six teams - top 3 from Spring Split from both the NA LCS and EU LCS - will compete for regional dominance.

Here’s everything you need to know about Rift Rivals: NA vs. EU including format, event details, and how to get tickets: 

FORMAT

rift rivals infographic
  • Group Stage: Best of 1 (Bo1) Single Round Robin
  • Finals: Best of 5 (Bo5) Relay Race

EVENT DETAILS

Dates: July 5-7

Times: 

  • Pre-game coverage at Noon PDT / 9:00 PM CEST
  • Champ select for the first game will begin at 12:30 PM PT / 9:30 PM CEST

Teams

Top 3 teams from both NA LCS and EU LCS Spring Split will participate in Rift Rivals including:

na lcs teams

NA LCS:

1- Team Liquid (TL)

2- 100 Thieves (100)

3- Echo Fox (FOX)

 

eu lcs teams

EU LCS:

1- Fnatic (FNC)

2- G2 Esports (G2)

3- Splyce (SPY)

 

Schedule

Group Stage - Thursday, July 5 

Pre-game coverage - 12:00 PM PDT / 21:00 PM CEST
FNC vs. FOX - 12:30 PM PDT / 21:30 CEST 
TL vs. SPY - 1:30 PM PDT / 22:30 CEST (approx.)
100 vs. G2 - 2:30 PM PDT / 23:30 CEST (approx.)
FOX vs. SPY - 3:30 PM PDT / 24:30 CEST (approx.)

Group Stage - Friday, July 6

Pre-game coverage - 12:00 PM PDT / 21:00 PM CEST
TL vs. FNC - 12:30 PM PT / 21:30 CEST 
G2 vs. FOX - 1:30 PM PT / 22:30 CEST (approx.)
FNC vs. 100 - 2:30 PM PT /  23:30 CEST (approx.)
TL vs. G2 - 3:30 PM PT / 24:30 CEST (approx.)
100 vs. SPY - 4:30 PM PT / 1:30 CEST (approx.)

Finals - Saturday, July 7

Pre-game coverage - 12:00 PM PDT / 21:00 PM CEST
Relay Race Bo5 series begins at 21:30 CEST / 12:30 PM PT

Every team plays at least once in a Bo5 to determine a winning region with the following parameters:

  • The stronger region from groups gets to counter pick the first three games
  • Team matchups will be decided on the day of Finals
  • For the final 2 games, teams for each region will be selected at the same time with no chance of counter picks

FAQ

Why did we change the format? 

After looking back at last year’s Rift Rivals, fan and pro player feedback showed that they preferred the Relay Race format for Finals as seen in other regions. We decided to move to a Relay Race format for Finals because it allows for every team in each League to play on the last day. The format also ensures regional dominance and bragging rights are earned by the best League and not just the best team. No sandbagging this year, if you want to prove your League is better, every player, every team, has to bring it. We want to provide the feeling that every team from both Leagues had a part in the win or loss during Rift Rivals. Last year, it felt like TSM won over UOL rather than all the regional teams coming together to defeat their rival league.

We decided to move away from a double round robin Group Stage for a few reasons. Last year, it felt like Groups was the centerpiece of the event rather than Finals. We felt we didn’t need to do a double round robin Group Stage at this event because every team will now play in the Relay Race Finals. In addition, the switch to single round robin Bo1 makes every game, team matchup, and champion selection matter more toward developing a winning strategy during Finals. While we know having less cross regional play in the Group Stage will undoubtedly leave some of you wanting more, we believe these changes will create a better overall tournament experience for fans and pros alike.

Why is Rift Rivals shorter this year?

Last year, we focused heavily on Groups and the double round robin format to get as many cross regional games as possible.This year, we felt it was more important to amp up Finals as such we didn’t need the extra day with our new format. We have taken steps to increase our storytelling so the content won’t be light, and the gameplay will be meaningful for every match, since teams only face each other once. With this format change, we only needed three days to deliver the chaotic and high stakes atmosphere of Rift Rivals.

Why not more action on the weekend?

With Rift Rivals being a part of an international week of rivalry, we decided to schedule our games on days and times that allowed fans to watch as many regional clashes as possible. On top of that, pro player feedback last year, was such that the travel and time commitment wiped them out physically and was a drain on restarting their Summer Split, so this year we are aiming to get them home with enough time to adjust for their pivotal LCS games the following weekend.

In what languages will the Rift Rivals: NA v EU broadcast be available?

We’ll confirm all the international languages of the Rift Rivals: NA vs. EU broadcast after MSI 2018 concludes.

fan image

Will NA LCS defend their title as Rift Rivals champions or will EU LCS get revenge on last year? Don’t miss any of Rift Rivals: NA vs. EU starting on Thursday, July 5 at 12:30 PM PDT / 21:30 CEST with Fnatic vs Echo Fox.