Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

When are the Worlds 2016 Regional Qualifiers?

The 2016 World Championship kicks off in only a few weeks! How can teams around the globe qualify for Worlds? Read on to find out!

First, here's a quick reminder of the regions with teams competing at Worlds 2016 and how many seeds each region gets.

  • North America - NA League Championship Series (NA LCS) - 3 seeds
  • Europe - EU League Championship Series (EU LCS) - 3 seeds
  • Korea - League of Legends Champions Korea (LCK) - 3 seeds
  • China - League of Legends Pro League (LPL) - 3 seeds
  • Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan - League of Legends Master Series (LMS) - 2 seeds
  • Wildcard regions determined at IWC - 2 seeds

How do teams qualify for Worlds 2016?

There are three ways teams can qualify for Worlds from NA LCS, EU LCS, LCK, and LPL:

  • 1st seed - Win Summer Playoffs
  • 2nd seed - Have the most Championship Points by the end of Playoffs
  • 3rd seed - Win the Regional Qualifier

There are two ways LMS teams can qualify for Worlds:

  • 1st seed - Win Summer Playoffs
  • 2nd seed - Win the Regional Qualifier

Two teams from International Wildcard (IWC) regions qualify for Worlds by finishing top two at the IWC Qualifier (IWCQ) in Brazil.

What are the Regional Qualifiers?

The Regional Qualifiers are tournaments that the NA LCS, EU LCS, LCK, LPL, and LMS have after each region's Summer Playoffs. Fortunately for teams that don't manage to win Playoffs, earning a spot at Worlds is still possible by winning a Regional Qualifier.

What is the format of the Regional Qualifiers?

Teams are ranked within the Regional Qualifiers based on their final Championship Points standings. Teams earn Championship Points based on where they finish in both the Spring and Summer Split Playoffs.

Teams with fewer points have to play more matches in the Regional Qualifiers. They must defeat all of the higher seeds in order to qualify, whereas teams that finished with more Championship Points have a relatively easier road.

In the NA LCS, EU LCS, LPL, LMS, and LCK, teams play out their Regional Qualifiers in a gauntlet format. Every match in the tournament is a Best of 5, and the four competing teams are seeded into a single elimination bracket based on the amount of Championship Points they've earned.


Regional Qualifiers

How do International Wildcard Teams qualify for Worlds 2016?

The teams that won the 2016 Summer Split in each of their respective IWC regions advance to the IWC Qualifier. The top two teams from IWCQ advance to Worlds.

The eight competing IWC regions are:

  • Brazil - CBLOL
  • CIS - LCL
  • Japan - LJL
  • LA North - LAN
  • LA South - LAS
  • Oceania - OPL
  • SE Asia - GPL
  • Turkey - TCL

At the IWCQ, teams will compete in a Best of 1 Round Robin tournament. The top four teams advance to the Final round of the tournament. The two teams that win the Final round advance to Worlds 2016.


International Wildcard Knockout Bracket

When can I watch the Regional Qualifiers and the IWCQ?

The Regional Qualifiers will be played on varying days in different regions. See below for when you can watch all of them! You can watch all of the Regional Qualifiers on Lolesports. For the exact times of when each Qualifier starts in your region, check the League's schedule page.


Regional Qualifier Dates