Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Worlds 2018 Team Qualification Guide

The 2018 League of Legends World Championship kicks off on October 1, 2018. That’s less than a month from today!

With fourteen regions competing in the tournament, it can be tough to keep track of how seeds are allocated and which teams fill those seeds. Not to worry, we’ve got you covered - read on for an explanation of all things Worlds qualification.

How are seeds allocated?

A region’s seeds are based on past international performance. Consistently strong regions send some or all of their seeds straight to the Group Stage, whereas other regions receive fewer seeds and/or start in the Play-In Stage.

For Korea’s League of Legends Champions Korea (LCK), three seeds are sent to the Group Stage.

In the following regions, the top two seeds are sent to the Group Stage and the third seed is sent to the Play-In Stage:

  • China – League of Legends Pro League (LPL)
  • Europe – European League of Legends Championship Series (EU LCS)
  • North America – North American League of Legends Championship Series (NA LCS)
  • Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau – League of Legends Master Series (LMS)

In the following regions, one seed is sent to the Play-In Stage:*

  • Brazil – Campeonato Brasileiro de League of Legends (CBLoL)
  • Commonwealth of Independent States – The League of Legends Continental League (LCL)
  • Japan – League of Legends Japan League (LJL)
  • Latin America North – Liga Latinoamérica Norte (LLN)
  • Latin America South – Copa Latinoamérica Sur (CLS)
  • Oceania – Oceanic Pro League (OPL)
  • Turkey – Turkish Championship League (TCL)
  • Southeast Asia - SEA Tour (SEA)
  • Vietnam - Vietnam Championship Series (VCS)

*The highest-ranking of these regions at MSI advances directly to the Group Stage. For 2018, that region is the VCS.

How do teams qualify?

There's only one way teams from CBLOL, LCL, LJL, LLN, CLS, OPL, TCL, SEA and VCS can qualify:

Win Split 2 Playoffs

There are three ways teams from LCK, LPL, EU LCS, NA LCS, and LMS can qualify:

  • 1st seed – Win Split 2 Playoffs
  • 2nd seed – Have the most Championship Points by the end of Playoffs
  • 3rd seed – Win the Regional Qualifier

When are Split 2 Playoffs in each region?

Split 2 Playoffs take place on different dates in each region.

  • LCK: 8/12-9/8
  • LPL: 9/5-9/14
  • EU LCS: 8/24-9/9
  • NA LCS: 8/25-9/9
  • LMS: 9/7-9/15
  • SEA: 8/13-8/19
  • CBLoL: 8/11-9/8
  • LCL: 8/25-9/2
  • LJL: 9/8-9/15
  • LLN: 8/30-9/8
  • CLS: 8/30-9/9
  • OPL: 8/24-9/1
  • TCL: 8/25-9/16
  • VCS: 9/7-9/22

Check your league’s website for more information on when and how to watch.

What are the Regional Qualifiers?

The LCK, LPL, EU LCS, NA LCS, and LMS all hold Regional Qualifiers after Split 2 Playoffs to determine which team from their region will secure the 3rd seed at Worlds.

Teams are ranked within the Regional Qualifiers based on their final Championship Points standings. Teams earn Championship Points based on where they finish in both the Split 1 and Split 2 Split Playoffs.

Most regions play out their Regional Qualifiers in a gauntlet format. Every match in the tournament is a Best of 5, and the four competing teams are seeded into a single elimination gauntlet-style bracket based on the amount of Championship Points they've earned.

regional qualifiers

In a gauntlet, teams with fewer points have to play more matches. They must defeat all of the higher seeds in order to qualify, whereas teams that finished with more Championship Points have a relatively easier road.

In the LMS, Regional Qualifiers are played in a bracket format. After two initial matches between the 1st/4th and 2nd/3rd highest point holders, the winners of each duke it out in a final match.


Where can I watch the Regional Qualifiers?

The Regional Qualifiers take place on different dates in different regions.

  • NA LCS: 9/14-9/16
  • EU LCS: 9/14-9/16
  • LCK: 9/12-9/16
  • LPL: 9/15-9/16
  • LMS: 9/20-9/22

Check your league’s website for more information on when and how to watch.